Welcome to Dallas, TX

10 days ago I signed a contract for a job offer in Dallas, TX for 13 weeks

It is bittersweet!

Yesterday, I left Birmingham, AL to embark on a new adventure.  As I left Birmingham, AL, I did not look back.  I packed up the car and was ready for the open road ahead of me.  I knew that the drive would be long.  There was time for much reflection.  Driving and thinking.  After about 6 hours on the road, my eyes began to feel heavy.  I stopped at a Days Inn, but I decided against that motel due to the characters who were waiting for a room.  I continued on my travels until I found a hotel worthy to stay: Ramada Inn.  It took me 3 trips to take all of my valuables inside, but it was worth it when my head hit the pillow.

Upon arrival to Dallas, TX – I checked out the hospital first then headed to the place I would lay my head for the next 13 weeks.  The hospital was big and confusing as is the case with most hospitals.  The first thing I looked for was a bike rack, but I was unable to locate one.  I then proceeded to the address.

I walked into an empty house – she left the key in a hidden nook.  I let myself in, and checked out the abode.  I peeked into the room with the open door.  Honestly, it felt as if someone was already living in that room.  Granted, there was no bed – just two desks, a semi-bookshelf full of decor, a full rolling cart of junk, and along one wall was a pile of not-my stuff.  I had to take a step back and ponder if this was the room I would be occupying.  I continued to search the house wondering if there was another room I was missing – my room.  After a couple of hours on the phone via texts with the ‘landlord’, I decided to stop wallowing in self pity and went riding.  I continued to search out places to live – using every resource I had in Dallas, TX.  In the end, the location and price were prime real estate, so I decided to make it work.  The next day I unpacked 50% of my car (after unpacking and removing all of the unnecessary items already in ‘my’ room).

. . . and so the adventure begins

all my bags are packed, I'm ready to go

all my bags are packed, I’m ready to go

my other mode of transportation

my other mode of transportation

Leave a Reply

