mistake: thinking people can read my mind

I’ve been guilty of thinking that people can read my mind. They should know what I want as a present: Christmas or birthday. When I say I don’t want anything, believe me. If you should examine my life and present me with a gift useful for my current life situation. Look at my lifestyle and purchase something for me that would fit my lifestyle. I want you to put some thought into the gift and present it to me.
When I’m busy with my own affairs, I want you to realize: I want to spend time with you, I’m just caught up with my life. It doesn’t mean I don’t want you around or in my life, it’s just that right now: life situations and happenings take priority.
Sometimes when I communicate with people, I’m like a 4-year old on the phone. If you’ve ever talked to a little child on the phone, you may know what I’m talking about. The child says (into the phone) “Look at my new doll. Isn’t she pretty?” You are thinking, we are on the phone, you can’t see the doll. Another example, then the boys are sitting in the backseat telling you where to go, they say “go this way, then go that way”. They think you can see them, but you are driving and your eyes are on the road ahead of you, not on them in the backseat. Therefore, when I talk to you, I think I am saying what I am thinking. However, that’s not always the case.

Leave a Reply

